"If we practice the science of yoga, which is useful to the entire human community and which yields happiness both here and hereafter , if we practice it without fail, we will then attain physical, mental, and spiritual happiness, and our minds will flood towards the Self". (S.K. Patthabi Jois)

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga or Dynamic Yoga

Yoga  is an excellent instrument that allows us to obtain excellent health of the skeletal muscle apparatus, a constant back pain relief, a flexible and light body, a better functioning of the respiratory and circulatory system, as well as a strong mental balance.

Ashtanga Yoga in particular, is a traditional system of Yoga – transmitted by S.K. Pattabhi Jois – that starts with the movement of the body, in which the synchronization with the breath is the central point, and it goes on helping us to calm and to focus our spirit.

The term Ashtanga, means, literally, 8 branches.

We find this word in one of the oldest and most important writings of Yoga – “Yoga Sutra” of Patanjali – which shows us 8 instruments of the Yoga system that allow the union of body, spirit and soul.

These 8 elements are:

Ethical behaviours that we have to adopt towards others (Yama)

Ethical behaviours that we have to adopt towards ourselves (Niyama)

Postures’ practice (Asana)

Control of the breath (Pranayama)

Control of the senses (Pratyahara)

Concentration (Dharana)

Meditation (Dhyana)

Contemplation (Samadhi)

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga is the Yoga “of the action”. Indeed, as Pattabhi Jois told us, the more we practice asana, the more we will attain all the other branches.

S.K. Pattabhi Jois

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois began his studies in 1927 at the age of 12, under the guidance of Sri T. Krishnamacharya. He dedicated himself to the daily practice of asana, meditation, pranayama and to the understanding of yoga by studying the original ancient writings.

In 1948, he created the Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute in Mysore, in the South of India, to teach the traditional method described in some of these former texts and received from his Master (Guru). Sri K. Pattabhi Jois became famous due to the teaching of this method, Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga: a system that combines the movement of the body with the synchronization of the breath. One of the most famous quote of Pattabhi Jois, which can well synthesize the root spirit of Ashtanga Yoga and that he often told his students during his lessons, is: “Practice! Practice! 99% of yoga is practice, 1% is theory.”

"Si nous pratiquons la science du yoga, qui est utile à toute la communauté humaine et qui garantie le bonheur dans ce monde et dans l’autre et si nous la pratiquons de la manière correcte, alors nous obtiendrons le bonheur physique, mental et spirituel, et notre esprit pourra confluer dans le Soi Universel". (S.K. Patthabi Jois)

Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga ou Yoga Dynamique

Le Yoga est une discipline qui permet d’obtenir une excellente santé de l’appareil musculo-squelettique, un entretien constant du dos, légèreté et flexibilité du corps, un meilleur fonctionnement des systèmes respiratoires et circulatoires, et un équilibre mental renforcé.

L’Ashtanga Yoga, en particulier, est une forme traditionnelle de Yoga, transmise par S.K. Pattabhi Jois, qui part du mouvement du corps, dans laquelle la synchronisation avec le souffle en est le point central, pour arriver à calmer et focaliser l’esprit.

Le terme Ashtanga signifie, littéralement, 8 branches.

On retrouve cette parole dans un des textes les plus anciens et importants du Yoga – le « Yoga Sutra » de Patanjali – qui nous indique 8 instruments qui permettent l’union de corps, esprit et âme (Yoga).

Ces 8 éléments sont:

Disciplines éthiques de comportement que l’on doit adopter envers les autres (Yama)

Disciplines éthiques de comportement l’on doit adopter envers nous mêmes (Niyama)

La pratique de postures (Asana)

Le contrôle du souffle (Pranayama)

Le contrôle des sens (Pratyahara)

La concentration (Dharana)

La méditation (Dhyana)

La contemplation (Samadhi)

L’Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga est le Yoga de l’action. En effet, comme Pattabhi Jois nous l’a transmis, plus on pratique les asanas, plus on arrive à atteindre toutes les autres branches.

S.K. Pattabhi Jois

Sri K. Pattabhi Jois a commencé ses études en 1927 à l’âge de 12 ans guidé par  Sri T. Krishnamacharya. Il s’est consacré à la pratique quotidienne des asanas, de la méditation, du pranayama et à l’approfondissement du yoga en étudiant les anciens textes originaux.

En 1948 il a fondé l’Ashtanga Yoga Research Institute à Mysore, dans le sud de l’Inde, pour enseigner la méthode traditionnelle décrite dans les textes anciens et reçu par son Maitre (Guru).  S.K. Pattabhi Jois est devenu célèbre grâce à l’enseignement d’une méthode, l’Ashtanga Vinyasa Yoga: un système qui met en relation le mouvement du corps avec la synchronisation du souffle. Une des phrases les plus célèbres de ce grand Maitre qui synthétise bien les fondements de l’Ashtanga et que Pattabhi Jois avait l’habitude de dire à ses élèves pendant ses conférences, est : « Pratiquez, pratiquez! 99% du yoga est pratique, 1% est théorie.”

Login

Lost your password?